Honda Prize

HONDA FOUNDATION TOP > Activities/Honda Prize > Past Laureates > HONDA PRIZE 2005


1980 1990 2000 2010
Raj Reddy   Dr. Raj Reddy Professor of Computer Science and Robotics Carnegie Mellon University
Commemorative lecture PDFPDF

Honda Foundation (Founder: Soichiro Honda and Benjiro Honda, President: Hiromori Kawashima) announced it has decided to confer the Honda Prize for the year 2005 on Dr. Raj Reddy (68), the Mozah Bint Nasser University Professor of Computer Science and Robotics at Carnegie Mellon University, U.S.A.
Among the 26 laureates of the Honda Prize including himself, Dr. Reddy was the sixth American and the first Robotics scientist to receive the prize.


Dr. Reddy achieved in computer science and robotics, particularly as a world leader in the study of human-computer interaction, artificial intelligence, and speech and visual recognition by machine through a number of distinguished, successful projects.
His career as an educator has also been impressive: As the founding director of the renowned Robotics Institute at Carnegie Mellon University, he has vigorously promoted and enhanced the international robotics community by accepting and educating as many researchers from companies and universities overseas. As a result, robotics has become one of the most promising technological areas for today's industry as well as future society in the sense that it helps create more harmonious relationships between man and nature through the involvement of intelligent machines. .
Honda Foundation believes these Dr. Reddy's achievements accord to the vision of our advocating Eco-Technology: a genuine technology in harmony with the entire environment surrounding human activities. As the 26th laureate of the Honda Prize, Dr. Reddy was awarded an extra prize of 10 million yen. The award ceremony was held at Hotel Okura, Tokyo, Japan on Friday, November 25, 2005.


1937 Born in India
1958 BE degree from the Guindy Engineering College of the University of Madras India
1960 MTech degree from the University of New South Wales Australia
1966 Assistant Professor of Stanford Univ.
1969 Carnegie Mellon faculty as an Associate Professor of Computer Science
1973 Carnegie Mellon faculty as a Full Professor of Computer Science
1979 Carnegie Mellon University Director of the Robotics Institute
1984 Carnegie Mellon University Professor
1991 Carnegie Mellon University Dean of School of Computer Science

Awards:(from 1984 onward)

1984 The Legion of Honor by President Mitterand of France
1991 The IBM Research Ralph Gomory Fellow Award
1994 The ACM Turing Award
2001 Padma Bhushan by President of India
2004 Okawa Prize
He has been awarded honorary doctorates from SV University in India, University Henri-Poincare in France, University of New South Wales in Australia, Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University in India, University of Massachusetts in USA, University of Warwick in England, Anna University in India and the Indian Institute for information Technology (Allahabad). He serves on the Board of Governors of Peres Institute for peace in Israel.


Selected contributions available on the Web:


1988 Foundations and Grand Challenges of Artificial Intelligence, AAAI Presidential Address
1995 To Dream the Possible Dream, Turing Award Lecture presented at ACM CS Conference
1997 Towards Teleportation, Time Travel and Immortality, ACM 50th Anniversary Conference
1997 A Gigabit National Data Grid/Fiber-to-the-Home Initiative for Computer Mediated Communications
2000 Implications of Infinite Memory and Bandwidth,Talk presented at Newell-Simon Hall Dedication Symposium
2001 Computing - The Next 10 years, Talk presented at Georgia Tech 10th Anniversary Convocation
2004 PCtvt: a multifunction information appliance for illiterate people Talk presented at ICT4B retreat at UC Berkeley


Professional honors:


Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America
President of the American Association for Artificial Intelligence from 1987 to 89.
Member of the National Academy of Engineering
Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Co-chair of the President's Information Technology Advisory Committee (PITAC) from 1999 to 2001
Board of Governors of Peres Institute for Peace in Israel
Back to Top
Honda Prize Past Laureates
YES Award Past Awardees
Global Entrepreneurship Week/JAPAN
Search for
SITEMAPTerms of UseCopyright and Links to Us @Copyright°°HONDA FOUNDATION . ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.